Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI)

Joint partnership with The JCSE at Wits University in South Africa (now with UICT) is one of only two African-based partners of the CMMI Institute, the USA-based custodian of the CMMI model.

CMMI (“Capability Maturity Model Integration”) is a process improvement model, which means that it focuses on helping organizations establish processes that conform to broadly accepted best practices … and then incrementally improve these processes. CMMI measures an organization’s processes against two related benchmarked scales – namely capability and maturity. An organization as a whole has a “process maturity level” on a scale of 1 (called “ad hoc”) to 5 (called “optimizing”). Each process area in the organization has a “capability level” between 1 and 5.  The higher these levels, the more likely it is that software development teams within the organization will perform well by delivering projects on-time, within-budget and of high quality.


While training on such a course usually takes a more extended period, this one-day Workshop should enable the attendees to:

  • Appreciate what it takes to maintain quality in projects from the Junior Programmers to the Senior Programmers and Project Managers,
  • Appreciate the importance of a centralized QMS for implementation of projects to ensure uniformity in the documentation, which means more minor learning cycles for new resources, better management of project status and health,
  • Incorporate Software Engineering Best Practices in their Organizations as described in CMMI Model,
  • Appreciate what it takes to achieve Cost-saving, increase productivity improve Overall increased Return on Investment, and ensure On-Time Deliveries due to lesser effort due to fewer defects and less rework,
  • Appreciate what it takes to ensure Increased Customer Satisfaction,

Targeted audience

  • ICT Project Managers
  • ICT Suppliers,
  • Software Developers,
  • System Auditors,
  • Software Quality Testing (SQT) Automation Specialists,
  • Computer System Analysts,
  • Information Technology Managers,
  • Enterprise Architecture Specialists.